Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Economics Reference Sources
The New Palgrave by
Publication Date: 2020
The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics brings together over 900 of the foremost economists, historians, and statisticians of our time, writing on a wide array of topics, from absolute and exchangeable value to zero-sum game.
A Dictionary of Economics by
Publication Date: 2017-03-12
This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of approximately 3,500 key economic terms. Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics, this is the essential reference work in this area. The new edition of this dictionary has been updated to include entries on China, India, and South America, to reflect the increase in prominence of these regions in the global economy. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions from around the world. Fully revised to keep up-to-date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include entries such as "austerity measures," "General Anti Abuse Rule," "propensity score matching," and "shadow bank." Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a list of Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites. As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking by
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
This comprehensive A-Z defines terms from all aspects of personal and international finance, including money markets, private investments and borrowing, central banking, foreign exchanges, monetary policy, and public and government finance.
The Handbook of International Financial Terms by
Publication Date: 1999-06-10
This Handbook aims to be the most comprehensive and up to date reference book available to those who are involved or could be involved in the world of finance. The financial world has a capacity for ingenious innovation and this extends to the often bewildering array and use of terms. Here youcan find out what a Circus, a Firewall, an Amazon Bond, a Clean Float, a Cocktail Swap, a Butterfly, a Streaker, a Straddle and a Strangle are. As well as defining terms, the book also shows how they are used differently in different markets and countries. It also has numerous examples showing clearly the use of particular calculations and instruments; and provides details of major markets, acronyms and currencies. Reflecting the development of global financial markets this Handbook will have broad appeal around the world. It will be a reliable guide for practitioners, and those in the related professions of accounting, law and management. At the same time it will be an invaluable companion for advancedstudents of finance, accounting and business.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by
Call Number: IMF Library General Books HC15 .O94 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-16
What were the economic roots of modern industrialism? Were labor unions ever effective in raising workers' living standards? Did high levels of taxation in the past normally lead to economic decline? These and similar questions profoundly inform a wide range of intertwined social issues whose complexity, scope, and depth become fully evident in the Encyclopedia. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, the Encyclopedia is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but also by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the histories of technology, migration, and transportation. The articles, all written and signed by international contributors, include scholars from Europe, Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Covering economic history in all areas of the world and segments of ecnomies from prehistoric times to the present, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History is the ideal resource for students, economists, and general readers, offering a unique glimpse into this integral part of world history.
The Palgrave Companion to Cambridge Economics by
Publication Date: 2016-11-22
Cambridge University has and continues to be one of the most important centres for economics. With nine chapters on themes in Cambridge economics and over 40 chapters on the lives and work of Cambridge economists, this volume shows how economics became established at the university, how it produced some of the world's best-known economists, including John Maynard Keynes and Alfred Marshall, plus Nobel Prize winners, such as Richard Stone and James Mirrlees, and how it remains a global force for the very best in teaching and research in economics. With original contributions from a stellar cast, this volume provides economists - especially those interested in macroeconomics and the history of economic thought - with the first in-depth analysis of Cambridge economics.