Economics & Finance: Commodities & Energy

The AMIS Market Monitor provides a synopsis of major developments in international commodity markets, focusing on wheat, maize, rice and soybeans.

Data, news and analysis on the global crude, European natural gas, and global LNG markets. Open to all IMF staff.

Dataset of over 18,000 Bloomberg tickers selected by IMF departmental representatives, including equity indexes; stock, bond, and commodity prices; currency exchange; interest rates; and mutual funds, via EcOS-EcDATA and EDI. Coverage is 1965 or the start date--whichever is later--through last day, with daily updates. Open to all IMF staff.

Commodities codes: CCRV - Commodity Curve Analysis; CPFC - Commodity Price Forecasts; FDM - Commodity Fundamentals; GLCO - Global Commodity Prices | Commodities Cheat Sheet

Commodities market data cover all major commodity prices and price indexes, as well as agricultural commodity supply and demand, with forecasts for the Americas, Europe, MENA, and Asia; Commodity price indexes from the Baltic Exchange and Commodity Research Bureau. Open to all IMF staff.

The Food Security Portal's commodities serve as a temperature check of market conditions for staple and non-staple foods at the global and local levels. They provide a series of commodity monthly, weekly, and daily prices and report a comprehensive monthly summary not only from the Excessive Food Price Variability Early Warning System but also from various external sources including the AMIS Market Monitor and the FAO Food Price index.

Over 105,000 live spot commodities and energy series from various exchanges and commodity houses. | Commodities & Energy Content Overview | Service has limited licensing/access: Limited to 300 users.

Detailed individual analyst and average (mean) price forecasts for the next 8 quarters as well as the long-term outlook for: Energy: Crude Oil, Gasoline & Heating Oil, Gas Oil, Natural Gas, Coal, Uranium; Metals: Aluminium, Alumina, Copper, Nickel, Lead, Zinc, Steel, Iron Ore, Gold, Silver, Platinum, Palladium; Agriculture: Wheat, Corn, Soybeans, Sugar, Cocoa, Cotton, Palm Oil. Plus: Consensus (Mean), High and Low forecasts for Cobalt, Lithium, Manganese, Molybdenum, Rutile, Ilmenite, and Zircon, as well as Commodity Price Indices, Long-Term Forecasts and a separate Special Analysis for each quarter (Commodity Price Ranges and Volatility, Seasonal Price Patterns, Factors Affecting Commodity Prices and Commodity Price and Currency Correlations). Open to all IMF and World Bank Group staff.

Central collection and publication of electricity generation, transportation and consumption data and information for the pan-European market. Open to all.

EIU's energy insights and forecasts. Open to all IMF staff.

In-depth analysis of countries and sectors, including Metals, Mining, Oil & Gas, Petrochemicals, Power, Renewables.

Energy price data including motor fuel prices in 135 countries, electricity prices in 150 countries and natural gas prices in about 50 countries. Open to all IMF staff.

Haver commodities databases: PPI - Producer Price Indexes, Commodity; DAILY & INTDAILY - indexes, prices, futures; WEEKLY & INTWEEKLY - commodity and energy prices; BALTIC - Baltic Freight Indexes (worldwide cost of shipping bulk commodities); ENERGY - Global Energy Statistics; USENERGY - US Energy Statistics; JODI - Oil World Database; G10 - Prices, HWWI Commodity Price Index; EMERGE - Producer Price Indexes. Open to all IMF staff.

The IEA Data Services Package includes: Monthly Oil Data Service, Monthly Gas Data Service, World Energy Statistics, World Energy Balances, Coal Information, Electricity Information, Natural Gas Information, Oil Information, Renewables Information , Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Energy, Emissions Factors, Energy End-uses and Efficiency Indicators, Projections (from Energy policies of OECD countries, Energy Projections of IEA Countries – with Extended Transitions Indicators), Energy Prices (World Energy Prices, OECD Energy Prices & Taxes (Quarterly), Monthly Prices), IEA Energy and Carbon Tracker, Energy Technology RD&D. Open to all IMF staff.

World energy prices database covering 139 countries with weekly, monthly, quarterly and yearly data for end-use prices; and energy prices and taxes for OECD countries. Open to all IMF staff.

Provides monthly data on natural gas balances, imports and exports for OECD countries.​ Open to all IMF staff.

Detailed database of historical and projected information used in preparing the International Energy Agency's monthly Oil Market Report (OMR). Open to all IMF staff.

Detailed data from 1961 for imports and exports by commodity in quantity and value between OECD countries and 264 different partner countries. Products are classified according to the Standard International Trade Classification system (SITC) and Harmonised System (HS).

Real-time cargo tracking and trade data intelligence for LNG, coal, iron ore, dirty petroleum products, clean petroleum products, and crude oil / condensate, as well as crude inventories data. Open to all IMF staff.

Indices of market prices for fuel and non-fuel commodities, and actual market prices for fuel and non-fuel commodities.

Commodity news and analysis, exchange-traded and OTC prices, specialist industry data, commodity fundamentals, and forecasts. Eikon Commodities brochure | Service has limited licensing/access: Limited to 300 users with Datastream accounts.

A complete and integrated field-by-field database for the global upstream oil and gas industry.

Comprehensive and detailed view of global mining industry activities. Open to all IMF staff.

Annual and monthly international trade statistics data for over 170 reporter countries/areas, detailed by commodities/service categories and partner countries.

Monthly indices and monthly averages of daily and weekly commodity prices since 1960. Open to all IMF staff.