Economics & Finance: Currencies & Exchange Rates

Tracking system of exchange and trade arrangements, exchange restrictions and exchange controls.

Currencies & Fixed Income Codes: FRD - FX Forward Calculator; FXIP - Forex Information Portal; FXTF - FX Ticker Finder; WCR - World Currency Rates | Foreign Exchange Cheat Sheet

CEIC has historical time series data. See High Frequency Database > Financial and Monetary Statistics > Foreign Exchange Rates

The Currency Composition of Official Foreign Exchange Reserves (COFER) database is managed by the Statistics Department of the International Monetary Fund (IMF). This website disseminates end-of-period quarterly data on COFER in the format of statistical aggregates.

Refinitiv Datastream hosts a wide range of Interest Rates from over 110 sources/administrators for benchmarks, time deposits, OIS, IRS, swaptions, constant maturities, zeroes and other rates across over 110 currencies, and it hosts FX currency spot rates, forward rates, NDF rates from over 80 sources. Customers have access to end of day mid, bid & ask close rates with history from as far back as 1950. In addition, the market leading WMR Refinitiv spots (forwards and NDFs are available) are the default currency conversion rates in Datastream.

Data on bonds, commodities, interest rates, stock markets and indices, futures, exchange rates, GDP, prices, and unemployment. World exchange rates back to 1624. Open to all IMF staff.

Haver currencies databases: DAILY; INTDAILY; WEEKLY; INTWEEKLY; all Advanced Economies and Emerging Markets databases

The INS data file contains Nominal Effective Exchange Rates, Real Effective Exchange Rates, and Relative Price Indices, for Fund members. This is the output from a monthly exercise coordinated by the STA/SI (Statistical Information Management Division), and is based on IFS exchange rate and consumer price data subject to country desks' reviews and revisions. The data starts in 1979. The base-year is 2010.

Contains international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. For most countries, IFS reports balance of payments, international liquidity, money and banking, exchange rates, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and population.

GFD has time series of black market exchange rates for about 50 countries. Largely historic but some are fairly up to date including for North Korea and Venezuela.
In the left-side column, under "Series Type," choose "Exchange Rates - Black Market" from the drop-down menu.

Haver has some parallel market exchange rate data, in the INTDAILY database. See Selected Major Indicators by Concept > Exchange Rates > Parallel / Informal / Black Market Exchange Rates

CNTS includes Free/Black Market Rate, Local Currency Per $US: The free or black market rate in local currency per U.S. dollar, primarily as reported until 1985 by Pick's Currency Yearbook.