LibGuides: Climate Change: Data

Climate Change Indicators Dashboard - IMF

The Climate Change Indicators Dashboard (CID) is an international statistical initiative led by the Fund to address the growing need for climate-related data used in macroeconomic and financial policy analysis. Includes financial, physical, and transition risk indicators—including on carbon footprint-adjusted loans to total loans for deposit takers, trends in green bonds, frequency of disasters to gauge physical risks, and a composite indicator that helps assess climate driven hazards.

Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP) - World Bank

The Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP) contains environmental, disaster risk, and socio-economic datasets, as well as synthesis products, such as the Climate Adaptation Country Profiles and Climate Smart Agriculture Profiles, which are built and packaged for specific user-focused functions in a particular country or sector. The portal also provides intelligent links to other resources and tools.

Bloomberg Professional
Bloomberg covers more than 13,000 companies in 100+ countries with ESG data. ESG data is fully integrated with all of Bloomberg’s data analysis, such as the Equity Screener (EQS), Portfolio Analytics (PORT), Relative Value (RV) and Excel-based analytical models, including ESG Scorecard and Carbon Risk Valuation Tool. Sustainable finance & ESG Cheat Sheet
CDP
New! CDP, formerly the Carbon Disclosure Project, runs the global disclosure system that enables companies to measure and manage their environmental impacts, focusing on Climate, Water and Forest. CDP has built a comprehensive collection of self-reported environmental data from around the world. It aims to make environmental reporting and risk management a business norm, and drive disclosure, insight and action towards a sustainable economy. Data is provided in Excel, as a separate excel file for each data set per year.
Climate Change Indicators Dashboard - IMF
Web interface for simple access to an overview of climate data by country, especially useful for international benchmarking.
Climate Change Knowledge Portal - World Bank
Provides global data on historical and future climate vulnerabilities and impacts. Climate data aggregations are currently offered at national, sub-national, and watershed scales.
LSEG Datastream
ESG data on more than 12,000 companies, spanning 22 global and regional indices, with insight on 1.8 million Officers and Directors. ESG data covers 80% of global market cap across 76 countries. More than 450 ESG data points and 100 ESG analytics going back to 2002. Service has limited licensing/access: Limited to 300 users.
EM-DAT, the International Disaster Database
Global database on natural and technological disasters, containing essential core data on the occurrence and effects of more than 22,000 disasters in the world, from 1900 to present.
Eora Global Supply Chain Database
Multi-region input-output table (MRIO) model that provides a time series of high-resolution IO tables with matching environmental and social satellite accounts for 190 countries. Includes 2720 line item environmental indicators covering GHG emissions, labour inputs, air pollution, energy use, water requirements, land occupation, N and P emissions, primary inputs to agriculture (including 172 crops) from FAOSTAT, and Human Appropriation of Net Primary Productivity.
Fitch Ratings Pro - Fitch Research and Ratings - ESG topic page
See the latest content from Fitch Ratings' Sustainable Finance team or other research tied to ESG, including ESG Relevance Dashboards and Heatmaps.
Haver Analytics
ESG database includes emissions, sea level, pollutants data
ENERGY database includes renewable energy, carbon dioxide emissions, key minerals for the energy transition
ICE CTF Emissions Data (formerly Urgentem)
ICE's Climate Transition Finance (CTF) emissions datasets provide a comprehensive time series of the Greenhouse Gas Protocol defined Scope 1, 2 and 3 emissions of global companies, with modelled data available for 30,000+ securities.
IEA Data Services
The IEA Data Services Package includes: Monthly Oil Data Service, Monthly Gas Data Service, World Energy Statistics, World Energy Balances, Coal Information, Electricity Information, Natural Gas Information, Oil Information, Renewables Information , Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Energy, Emissions Factors, Energy End-uses and Efficiency Indicators, Projections (from Energy policies of OECD countries, Energy Projections of IEA Countries – with Extended Transitions Indicators), Energy Prices (World Energy Prices, OECD Energy Prices & Taxes (Quarterly), Monthly Prices), IEA Energy and Carbon Tracker, Energy Technology RD&D. Open to all IMF staff.
Institute of International Finance (IIF) - Sustainable Finance
Capital markets solutions that support the development and growth of green finance.
World Bank Group and IMF staff can register individually at https://www.iif.com/register.
Jupiter Climate Score Global
Quantifies physical climate risk around the world by bringing together global climate models (incl. the 6th iteration of the Coupled Model Intercomparison Project (CMIP6) models and the IPCC AR6 scenarios), historical datasets and high-resolution topographical models. Offers metrics to directly measure flood, wind, heat, wildfire, drought, hail, and extreme precipitation physical risk. Data available at five-year increments from 2020 through 2100. Updated periodically throughout the year.
Moody’s Investors Service – ESG Credit topic page
Reports, ESG scores, and events. Moody’s has published a new wave of issuer profile scores (IPS) and credit impact scores (CIS) for a wide range of companies, utilities, financial institutions and multilateral development banks. Excel files with the scores, along with reports that take an in-depth look at the credit issues driving the scores, are available. Contact Library@IMF.org for full text of analytical reports and Excel data reports.
MSCI ESG Sovereign and Corporate Ratings
MSCI ESG measures the environmental, social and governance performance of over 8,500 companies. Service has limited licensing/access: Limited to 10 users.
OECD Environment Statistics
Data on Air and climate, Forests, Biodiversity, Patents, Water, Waste, Fossil Fuels, Sustainable Oceans
LSEG Eikon - ESG
ESG data covering 76 countries, 80% of global market cap, 10,000+ public companies. Environmental scoring on resource use, emissions, and innovation. SUSFIN=Sustainable Finance home page. Service has limited licensing/access: Limited to 300 users with Datastream accounts.
Statista Global Climate Change - Statistics & Facts
Data on greenhouse gas emissions, temperature anomalies, and the cost of climate change and carbon prices.
Verisk Maplecroft - Environment
40+ environmental risk indices for Climate Change Vulnerability, Ecosystem Services, Emissions and Waste, Societal Response, Exposure to Natural Hazards, Hazard Risk, Impacts of Natural Hazards, and Vulnerability to Natural Hazards.

Carbon Pricing Dashboard
World Bank. Up-to-date information on existing and emerging carbon pricing initiatives around the world.
CCAFS-Climate
High-resolution climate datasets for assessing climate change impacts and adaptation in biodiversity, agricultural and livestock production, ecosystem services and hydrology.
CDP
Explore CDP's data for cities, companies and investors.
Climate Change Indicators Dashboard (CID)
IMF. An international statistical initiative focused on climate-related economic indicators.
Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP)
World Bank. Comprehensive global, regional, and country data related to climate change and development.
Climate Data Online
NOAA's National Climatic Data Center. Global historical weather and climate data.
Climate Watch
World Resources Institute. Analyze and compare countries’ climate progress and commitments under the Paris Agreement. Access the latest historical greenhouse gas emissions data, track net-zero targets and explore nationally determined contributions (NDCs) and long-term strategies to reduce GHG emissions.
Copernicus Climate Change Service
Authoritative information about the past, present and future climate, and tools to enable climate change mitigation and adaptation strategies by policy makers and businesses.
Data Lab
World Resources Institute. Reliable, accessible data to provide effective, actionable recommendations for government leaders, the private sector and civil society.
Dimensions.ai - United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
The 17 UN SDGs are implemented as a classification scheme covering areas of research associated with one or more SDGs (the majority of the SDGs are interrelated).
EarthData
NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) is a key core capability in the Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program.
EDGAR - Emissions Database for Global Atmospheric Research
Provides independent emission estimates compared to what is reported by European Member States or by Parties under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), using international statistics and a consistent IPCC methodology.
EM-DAT, the International Disaster Database
Global database on natural and technological disasters, containing essential core data on the occurrence and effects of more than 22,000 disasters in the world, from 1900 to present.
En-ROADS climate solutions simulator - MIT
New! En-ROADS is an online simulator that provides policymakers, educators, businesses, the media, and the public with the ability to test and explore cross-sector climate solutions.
Energy Subsidies: Tracking the impact of fossil-fuel subsidies
IEA. Data and Analysis highlighting the scale of fossil fuel subsidies and the beneficial impact of their removal for energy markets, climate change and government budgets.
Global Carbon Atlas
A platform to explore and visualize the most up-to-date data on carbon fluxes resulting from human activities and natural processes.
GreenFILE
Database of articles focusing on human impacts on the environment, including climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
ICAP ETS Map
International Carbon Action Partnership. Covers cap-and-trade systems for greenhouse gas emissions.
IETA Carbon Market Resources
Emissions trading resources and documentation.
Integrated Carbon Observation System (ICOS)
Provides standardized and open data from more than 140 measurement stations across 13 European countries, on greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere as well as carbon fluxes between the atmosphere, the land surface and the oceans.
International Environmental Agreements (IEA) Database Project
Sponsored by the University of Oregon.
IPC Green Inventory
WIPO. Patent information relating to Environmentally Sound Technologies (ESTs), as listed by the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) Dataset Search - NOAA
NCEI provides access to an extensive archive of environmental data through several platforms. They deliver climate, coastal, oceanographic, and geophysical data in a variety of formats.
Net Zero by 2050 Scenario
IEA. Figures and data along with projections at global level for the Net Zero Emissions by 2050 Scenario
Oasis Hub: Data and Tools
The global window to free and commercial environmental and risk data, tools and services. OasisHub is an independent, global aggregator of data, tools, and services for catastrophe, extreme weather, climate change, and environmental risk.
Oasis Loss Modelling Framework (Oasis LMF)
An open source catastrophe modelling platform.
Resource Watch
World Resources Institute. Hundreds of data sets and visualizations on the state of the planet's resources and citizens.
SDG Global Database - UN
United Nations. Gives you access to data on more than 210 SDG indicators for countries across the globe -- by indicator, country, region or time period.
State and Trends of Carbon Pricing
World Bank. Overview of existing and emerging carbon pricing instruments around the world, including regional, national and subnational initiatives.
UN Data – Environment Statistics Database
Contains selected water and waste statistics by country, based on official statistics supplied by national statistical offices and/or ministries of environment (or equivalent institutions) in countries in response to the biennial UNSD/UNEP Questionnaire on Environment Statistics. They were complemented by data on EU and OECD member and partner countries from Eurostat and OECD.
UN Data – World Meteorological Organization Standard Normals
WMO data provide the basis for better understanding the climatology of severe weather and extreme events such as tropical cyclones, El Niño, floods, heat waves, cold waves, droughts and other natural hazards, contributing to saving both lives and property, and improving our understanding and monitoring of the climate system and environment. WMO has drawn attention to issues of major concern, such as ozone layer depletion, global warming, climate change and diminishing water resources.
UNFCCC GHG Emissions Data
The UNFCCC GHG data is the official source for historic country emissions. This data is report yearly for Annex I countries, with/without LULUCF. For Annex II countries, where the data is less frequent, IEA estimates for historic CO2 emissions can be used
World Carbon Market Database
A comprehensive analytical tool providing information on the world's carbon trading schemes.

Protect yourself and the Fund: Consult the Copyright Terms and Conditions for permitted use of each data service. Questions? Contact Copyright@IMF.org