The World Bank Group Archives and Library curated this resource guide. Curators: Rona Razon (Archives) and Diana T. Huaman Calderon (Library).
What would you like to see in this guide? Please contact us with your ideas: wbglibrary@worldbank.org
This is not a comprehensive list of the World Bank Group's Archives and Library online resources. This resource guide will be updated as necessary. The content in this guide also does not necessarily reflect the views of the Bank Group (WBG), the Executive Directors of the World Bank, or the governments they represent.
Women's History Month 2023: To celebrate its significance for women of the World Bank Group, the Archives and Library has put together a resource guide containing selected online resources from the Archives and Library websites and other sources about women and leadership, particularly women's career growth and diverse roles in international development. May this mix of primary and secondary resources inspire you, especially through the power of the personal narratives highlighted in this guide.
Marianne Haug (Bank Tenure: 1971-1999) started her career with the Bank Group as a Young Professional in 1971-1972. She spent several years in the Industrial Projects Department, rising to Assistant Director of the Mining and Non-Ferrous Metals Division. Before her retirement, she was the Senior Adviser to the President in 1991-1999.
Related primary resource(s):
See more stories at Herstory: Selected stories from the Archives.
Uma Lele (Bank Tenure: 1971-2005) held various positions and worked in different departments at the Bank Group, from Economist in the Agriculture & Rural Development Department in 1971-1974 to Senior Advisor in the Operations Evaluations Department in 2000-2005.
Related primary resource(s):
See more stories at Herstory: Selected stories from the Archives.
Gloria Scott (Bank Tenure: 1977-1985) served as the first adviser on Women in Development in 1977. Coinciding with the United Nations Decade for Women (1976-1985), the World Bank Group was the first multilateral institution to create an Office of the Advisor on Women in Development dedicated to incorporating women's factors in development planning and project design, particularly in economic and sector work. Scott and her team were responsible for reviewing projects, verifying that women's needs were considered in project designs, promoting an understanding of gender-related issues, and developing ways to address them in operational work.
Related primary resource(s):
See more stories at Herstory: Selected stories from the Archives.
Women and Leadership by
A powerful call to action for achieving equality in leadership. Women make up fewer than ten per cent of national leaders worldwide, and behind this eye-opening statistic lies a pattern of unequal access to power. Through conversations with some of the world's most powerful and interesting women--including Jacinda Ardern, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Christine Lagarde, Michelle Bachelet, and Theresa May--Women and Leadership explores gender bias and asks why there aren't more women in leadership roles.
Invisible Women by
#1 International Bestseller Winner of the 2019 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award Winner of the 2019 Royal Society Science Book Prize A landmark, prize-winning, international bestselling examination of how a gender gap in data perpetuates bias and disadvantages women, now in paperback Data is fundamental to the modern world. From economic development to health care to education and public policy, we rely on numbers to allocate resources and make crucial decisions. But because so much data fails to take into account gender, because it treats men as the default and women as atypical, bias and discrimination are baked into our systems. And women pay tremendous costs for this insidious bias, in time, in money, and often with their lives. Celebrated feminist advocate Caroline Criado Perez investigates this shocking root cause of gender inequality in the award-winning, #1 international bestseller Invisible Women. Examining the home, the workplace, the public square, the doctor's office, and more, Criado Perez unearths a dangerous pattern in data and its consequences on women's lives. Product designers use a "one-size-fits-all" approach to everything from pianos to cell phones to voice recognition software, when in fact this approach is designed to fit men. Cities prioritize men's needs when designing public transportation, roads, and even snow removal, neglecting to consider women's safety or unique responsibilities and travel patterns. And in medical research, women have largely been excluded from studies and textbooks, leaving them chronically misunderstood, mistreated, and misdiagnosed. Built on hundreds of studies in the United States, in the United Kingdom, and around the world, and written with energy, wit, and sparkling intelligence, this is a groundbreaking, highly readable exposé that will change the way you look at the world.
The Confidence Code by
Following the success of Lean In and Why Women Should Rule the World, the authors of the bestselling Womenomics provide an informative and practical guide to understanding the importance of confidence--and learning how to achieve it--for women of all ages and at all stages of their career. Working women today are better educated and more well qualified than ever before. Yet men still predominate in the corporate world. In The Confidence Code, Claire Shipman and Katty Kay argue that the key reason is confidence. Combining cutting-edge research in genetics, gender, behavior, and cognition--with examples from their own lives and those of other successful women in politics, media, and business--Kay and Shipman go beyond admonishing women to "lean in."Instead, they offer the inspiration and practical advice women need to close the gap and achieve the careers they want and deserve.
Fearless and Free by
Women tend to be inherently cautious, to the point of overthinking their every move. This may help them stay safer than their male counterparts, but it also keeps them stuck in the action-first, fake-it-til-you-make-it ethos celebrated in the tech world shaking up the workforce today. What if women embraced the startup spirit? What if they had the confidence to take chances, even if they knew they may fail first? What if instead of agonizing over which step to take, they leapt forward quickly? These are the traits that helped Silicon Valley redefine our culture, and not surprisingly, these are the same lessons that can help all women succeed in all stages of their careers.In Fearless and Free, author Wendy Sachs has provided what O, The Oprah Magazine has called "pithy, invaluable guidance to women stymied in the workplace." With lessons learned from a wide range of women who faced down fears, roadblocks, and failures to reinvent themselves, Sachs's invaluable resource teaches women how to:* Boost their confidence* Sell their story* Capitalize on their skills and expand them* Nurture their network* Brand themselves--without bragging* Reposition themselves for reentering the workforce* And much more!By taking the disruptive methods that helped Silicon Valley send shockwaves across industries, Fearless and Free seeks to empower women in the workforce, showing them how to lean into their strengths, increase confidence, and make their impact known loud and clear.
Women Change the World by
Women Change the World is a collection of world-changing women--from actresses, recording artists, and writers to businesswomen and other high-profile female professionals--on women's unique contributions to society. Women Change the World will be released in conjunction with the California Women's Conference, which offers its attendees inspiration, resources, and connections to take the next steps in their businesses, personal development, or philanthropic endeavors. 2012's conference speakers included Marcia Cross, Donna Karen, Gloria Allred, and many others. Women Change the World aims not only to show how women can be the heart of success, but also to inspire other women to go out and change the world themselves.
Find articles on Women in Leadership at:
 |
