Toolbox for Authors: Writing and Sharing Your Research
Looking for tips and resources for writing? Explore these suggestions from the WBG Library staff. (Where noted, licensed resources and Intranet pages are available for WBG or IMF staff only. Some suggestions may require additional licensing)
The World Bank Group Publishing Program is the official publisher of record for WBG. It administers the Bank’s ISBN and reaches external audiences via global publishing marketing and distribution channels. Like other publishers, it acquires, transforms, and disseminates the Bank’s knowledge as formal book publications, applying rigorous standards in governance and best practices and standards in the publishing industry. To see if your work is a good fit for the program, visit the Publishing intranet site (FURL: publishing/) and contact the Publishing program to discuss your project.
The World Bank Group Publications Editorial Style Guide is an essential reference for manuscript editors (substantive and mechanical editors), proofreaders, and production editors. It is a supplement to other editorial references, in particular, The Chicago Manual of Style (annual subscription available online), 17th edition, and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 11th edition. It focuses on issues specific to the World Bank/International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) or for which Chicago provides multiple options.
Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media as well as other matters pertaining to writing, editing, and the publication production process.
EndNote is a bibliographic references management tool that allows users to search, retrieve and organize literature citations and share with colleagues. The WBG Library resources (databases, catalog), and the World Bank eLibrary offer the option to export bibliographic citation information for use in EndNote (and other similar citation management software). This introductory course will help you get started.
Subscriptions to commercial electronic resources, such as databases, electronic journals, and news services are provided to assist staff of the IMF and WBG in their work. All staff, including librarians, are bound by the vendor agreements that govern the permitted and prohibited usage of these materials, whether physical or electronic. In addition, Bank staff must comply with the WBG Directive Copyright, available at https://worldbankgroup.sharepoint.com/sites/ppfonline/PPFDocuments/f1893cf7d57146c49c56cfe681ce555a.pdf. Learn about best practices to reduce copyright infringement.
Recorded “Copyright Coffee” sessions on copyright compliance, usage of third-party images and content in digital media, copyright for publicly-disclosed documents and more.
Can I share my Financial Times password with my spouse? Can I post a Harvard Business Review article on my personal social media accounts? Can I send a pdf of a book to non-Bank users? Most of the WBG Library's licensed resources are subject to copyright and may only be used for your work purposes. The goal of this session is to make you feel more confident when using Library resources. Included in this session: 1) basics of copyright; 2) how to reduce institutional risk when using licensed content; and 3) the RightFind Advisor, a tool to use and share copyrighted content. Disclaimer: The WBG Library does not provide legal advice, however, it can offer guidance when using licensed resources.
