LibGuides: Fragile and Conflict-affected States: Data

Contact the IMF Library

Ask Us
Ask a question, give feedback, request a training. We usually respond within one business day, and often much sooner.

Visit Us
IMF Library: HQ1-C-650, T-Th 9-5
Data Zone: HQ1-2-323, T-Th 11:30-2:30 (Self Service M-F 9-5)

Data & Research Tools

Resources are grouped by FCS Monitoring and Country Risk; Climate Change and Disasters; Conflict; Food Insecurity; Forced Displacement; Governance; and Poverty.

FCS Monitoring and Country Risk

Basel AML Index
An independent country ranking and risk assessment tool for money laundering and terrorist financing (ML/TF).
Country Policy And Institutional Assessment (CPIA)
The CPIA rates countries against a set of 16 criteria grouped in four clusters: (i) economic management; (ii) structural policies; (iii) policies for social inclusion and equity; and (iv) public sector management and institutions. The criteria are focused on balancing the capture of the key factors that foster growth and poverty reduction, with the need to avoid undue burden on the assessment process.
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Country analysis and forecasts, risk assessments, economic and market data, daily news analysis and more, in 200+ countries. Open to all IMF staff.
Fitch BMI
Analysis of political, economic, and operational risks globally. BMI Country Risk provides in-depth political risk and macroeconomic analysis, 10-year forecasts and latest information on the local business environment. Includes quarterly BMI Country Risk reports and daily analysis, and Country Risk Index of political, economic and operational risk across global markets. BMI Operational Risk provides a quarterly risk index and research reports across four dimensions of risk: Crime, Defense & Security; Education & Labor; Logistics & Freight Transport; and Trade & Investment Risk.
Fragile States Index
The Fragile States Index (FSI), produced by the Fund for Peace (FFP), measures the vulnerability of states to collapse. It not only highlights the normal pressures that all states experience but also identifies when pressures exceed a state’s capacity to manage them.
IDA Resource Allocation Index (IRAI)
The World Bank’s IDA Resource Allocation Index (IRAI) is based on the results of the annual Country Policy and Institutional Assessments (CPIA) exercise that covers the IDA eligible countries.
International Country Risk Guide (ICRG)
ICRG, produced by The PRS Group, comprises 22 variables in three subcategories of risk: political, financial, and economic, for 140 countries. Open to all IMF staff.
OECD Fragility Framework
The OECD States of Fragility Platform is a one-stop-shop for all data, visualisations, and analysis pertaining to the States of Fragility series. It allows users to analyse all fragile contexts to address fragility along economic, environmental, political, security and societal dimensions, as well as understand the financing landscape in fragile contexts.
Verisk Maplecroft
Risk indices and interactive maps to evaluate political, economic, and societal risks (human rights, environmental risks, and natural hazards) for 197 countries at national and sub-national levels. Open to all IMF staff.

Climate Change and Disasters

Data in Emergencies (DIEM) - Monitoring - FAO
DIEM-Monitoring collects, analyses and disseminates data on shocks and livelihoods in countries prone to multiple shocks. DIEM-Monitoring aims to inform decision-making by providing regularly updated information on how different shocks are affecting the livelihoods and food security of agricultural populations.
EM-DAT, the International Disaster Database
Database on natural and technological disasters, containing essential core data on the occurrence and effects of more than 22,000 disasters in the world, from 1900 to present.
Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery (GFDRR) Online Tools
the Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery (GFDRR) is a global partnership that helps low- and middle-income countries better understand and reduce their vulnerability to natural hazards and climate change.

Conflict

ACLED
The Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (ACLED) collects real-time data on the locations, dates, actors, fatalities, and types of all reported political violence and protest events around the world.
Conflict Forecast
New! Provides forecasts for outbreaks of political violence and escalations into internal armed conflict. Forecast method is based on many years of academic research and millions of newspaper articles through automated summaries.
Global Conflict Risk Index
The Global Conflict Risk Index is developed by the Joint Research Centre, the European Commission's science and knowledge service. The output of the GCRI serves as the quantitative input to the EU conflict early warning framework for identifying countries at high risk of conflict and those whose risk is worsening significantly.
SIPRI Military Expenditure Database
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) military expenditure data is a resource for tracking and benchmarking military expenditure. Based on open sources only, including a SIPRI questionnaire which is sent out annually to all countries included in the database.
SIPRI Yearbook Online: Armaments, Disarmament and International Security
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. The SIPRI Yearbook is an essential and independent source for issues on armaments and arms control, conflicts and resolutions, security arrangements and disarmament, as well as longer-term trends in international security.
UCDP Interactive Conflict Encyclopedia
The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) provides this interactive guide to conflicts around the world, 1975-present. It provides a summary of the conflict and its history as well as profiles of the various conflict actors with links directly into the data they collect on fatalities.

Food Insecurity

Agricultural Market Information System (AMIS) Market Monitor
The AMIS Market Monitor provides a synopsis of major developments in international commodity markets, focusing on wheat, maize, rice and soybeans.
Daily Food Prices Monitoring and Food Inflation Nowcasting - FAO
Monitoring daily food prices and nowcasting food inflation for timely insights and informing early warnings systems
Food Security & Human Mobility - Migration Data Portal, IOM
This spotlight section aims to serve as an entry point to understand the complex relationship between migration, displacement and food security, which is often intertwined with other environmental, economic or socio-political forces or instabilities.
Food Security Portal - IFPRI
The portal provides key data to monitor food security situations and food prices, as well as tools for policy analysis and capacity development – all with the aim of providing policymakers and other stakeholders with the information they need to make appropriate and timely responses to address food insecurity.
Integrated Food Security Phase Classification (IPC)
By using the IPC classification and analytical approach, Governments, UN Agencies, NGOs, civil society and other relevant actors, work together to determine the severity and magnitude of acute and chronic food insecurity, and acute malnutrition situations in a country, according to internationally-recognized scientific standards.
Vulnerability Analysis and Mapping - World Food Programme
Data visualization and maps of global hunger hotspots.

Forced Displacement

Big Data for Migration Alliance (BD4M)
Accelerating the responsible and ethical use of non-traditional data sources and methods to support migration policy on the global, national, and local levels.
Data Innovation Directory - Migration Data Portal, IOM
Initiatives selected to highlight the latest developments in migration data innovation, as part of the work of the Big Data for Migration Alliance (BD4M).
Digital Refuge
A team of researchers out of UC Berkeley launched Digital Refuge, an interactive mapping project that presents refugees’ experiences in their own words. Digital Refuge maps and analyzes multiple sources, including more than 6,000 in-person interviews and more than 10,000 social media posts from Facebook, to tell the story of displaced persons caught up in the refugee crisis. Users can compare refugees’ hopes and worries to official reports, explore camp conditions, and see how refugees’ most pressing concerns and unmet needs change during the crisis.
Displacement Tracking Matrix - IOM
The Displacement Tracking Matrix (DTM) gathers and analyzes data to disseminate critical multi layered information on the mobility, vulnerabilities, and needs of displaced and mobile populations that enables decision makers and responders to provide these populations with better context specific assistance.
Forced Migration or Displacement - Migration Data Portal, IOM
Includes definitions, data sources, data strengths & limitations, and further reading.
Global Internal Displacement Database - Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre, IDMC
The database aims to provide comprehensive information on internal displacement worldwide. It covers all countries and territories for which IDMC has obtained data on situations of internal displacement, and provides data on situations of:
- Internal displacement associated with conflict and generalized violence (2009-2022);
- Displacement associated with sudden-onset natural hazard-related disasters (2008-2022)
Global public API - UNHCR
UNHCR has application programming interfaces (APIs) that provide access to datasets in the catalogue of UNHCR databases.
Joint Data Center on Forced Displacement - World Bank Group and UNHCR
The JDC supports and provides the collection, analysis, dissemination, and use of primary socioeconomic microdata and population data on persons affected by forced displacement that inform policymaking and programming.
Refugee Population Statistics Database - UNHCR
The database provides statistics on global forced displacement, including about UNHCR's populations of concern from 1951 until today.

Governance

Corruption Perceptions Index - Transparency International
The CPI ranks 180 countries and territories around the world by their perceived levels of public sector corruption, scoring on a scale of 0 (highly corrupt) to 100 (very clean).
State Resilience Index
The State Resilience Index (SRI), produced by the Fund for Peace (FFP), stands alongside the Fragile States Index (FSI), as a new tool to identify capacities and capabilities in countries under stress. Resilience is the extent to which a country can prepare, manage, and recover from a crisis, relative to the severity of that crisis.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
The Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) are designed to help researchers and analysts assess broad patterns in perceptions of governance across countries and over time.

Poverty

Poverty and Inequality Platform - World Bank
The Poverty and Inequality Platform (PIP) helps data users find historical and current information related to key development indicators such as poverty, inequality, and shared prosperity. In addition, PIP can be used for following trends and monitoring progress towards development targets. The platform reports national, regional, and global estimates.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
The World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. Available to IMF staff in EcOS and EDI, and on the World Bank website.

Copyright

Protect yourself and the Fund: Consult the Copyright Terms and Conditions for permitted use of each data service. Questions? Contact Copyright@IMF.org

Fragile and Conflict-affected States: Data

These databases and research tools are available to IMF staff. For assistance, contact Library@IMF.org.

Contact the IMF Library

Data & Research Tools

Copyright