Central bank, a nation's principal monetary authority, which regulates the money supply and credit, issues currency, and manages the rate of exchange. IFIs are established by more than one country, the shareholders are national governments.
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2016
Mark Carney, Central Bank Governor of Canada
Library research staff have access to additional resources and can run literature searches based on your needs.
Ask! a Librarian for more assistance.
Search our collections
Provides access to Fitch's global credit ratings and research. The four sectors to which Bank Group and IMF staff currently have access via this service are Banks, Insurance, Sovereigns & Subnationals, and European & Int'l Structured Finance.
- Central Bank Legislation Database (CBLD)
Provides the capability to search the text of central bank laws and relevant excerpts of constitutions of IMF member countries. The legislation and excerpts of constitutions have been encoded under more than 100 categories that mirror the structure of most central bank laws enacted during the last two decades.
(IMF only) Contains up to 16 years of information on 30,000 U.S. and international banks in over 190 countries from FitchRatings. Includes ratings from Fitch Ratings, S&P, Moody's and Capital Intelligence as well as ownership information, shareholders and subsidiary bank data. Also includes software for creating peer groups, graphs and exporting data for analysis. Topics covered include: bank profitability, bank ratings, banks, country risk, financial indicators.
- The Banker's almanac
A directory of the world's leading international banks. Provides detailed information including full bank name and address details (including web and e-mail addresses); senior banking personnel, group ownership, structure and subsidiary details; IBAN search; Mergers & Acquisitions Search (and also e-mail alerts); correspondents by country and currency (including Standard Settlement Instructions - SSIs payment reports); domestic and foreign branches; SWIFT/BIC and Reuters codes; national bank codes; financial and credit rating; date of establishment; and number of employees or services offered.