Skip to main content
LibrarySearch Ask! a Librarian Hours &
homeour collectionsresearch guideslibrary servicesabout us

Nobel Laureates in Economics: 2008

Ask! a Librarian

Library research staff have access to additional resources and can run literature searches based on your needs.

Ask! a Librarian for more assistance.

Value of the Prize

A variety of opinions have been expressed about the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel since it was introduced in 1969. This bibliography is a smorgasbord of views, arranged in reverse chronological order.


The Nobel Lectures

This document contains a chronological list of the Nobel Lectures from 1969-2007, with links to full-text and video presentations.

This Year's Winner

The 2008 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Science in Memory of Alfred Nobel has been awarded to Paul Krugman for his analysis of international trade and economic geography. "Patterns of trade and location have always been key issues in the economic debate. What are the effects of free trade and globalization? What are the driving forces behind worldwide urbanization? Paul Krugman has formulated a new theory to answer these questions. He has thereby integrated the previously disparate research fields of international trade and economic geography."

Paul Krugman, US citizen. Born 1953 in New York, NY, USA. Ph.D. 1977 from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA. Professor of Economics and International Affairs at Princeton University, NJ, USA, since 2000. He  joined The New York Times in 1999 as a columnist on the Op-Ed Page.

Subject Guide