Skip to main content
LibrarySearch Ask! a Librarian Hours &
homeour collectionsresearch guideslibrary servicesabout us

Nobel Laureates in Economics: 2012

The Nobel Lectures

This document contains a chronological list of the Nobel Lectures from 1969-2008, with links to full-text and video presentations.

Value of the Prize

A variety of opinions have been expressed about the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel since it was introduced in 1969. This bibliography is a smorgasbord of views, arranged in reverse chronological order.


This Year's Winners

The 2012 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Science in Memory of Alfred Nobel was awarded jointly to Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley "for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design". 

Alvin E. Roth, US citizen. Born December 1951, New York, NY, USA. Ph.D. 1974, Stanford University.

Lloyd S. Shapley, US citizen. Born in 1923 in Cambridge, MA, USA. Ph.D. in Mathematics in 1953 from Princeton University.

Subject Guide

Ask! a Librarian

Library research staff have access to additional resources and can run literature searches based on your needs.

Ask! a Librarian for more assistance.